This site was actively used over the period 2000-2005 as the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC) conducted a Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Freeway Reconstruction Study. This study was requested by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WISDOT), and was completed in 2003 under the guidance of an advisory committee made up of representatives from State, County, and local governments, and the business, labor, and environmental communities. Links within the site relating to submittal of comments and questions, and sign-up for email updates have been de-activated.

traffic picture Regional Freeway Reconstruction Study

Study Purpose

Study Scope


Study Newsletters, Reports, and Meetings

Frequently Asked Questions


Contact Us


Public Involvement

The regional freeway system reconstruction study attempted to develop a consensus on how to best approach the inevitable reconstruction of the freeway system by facilitating the active participation of public elected and appointed officials, business and civic leaders, environmental and community groups, and concerned and interested citizens and parties.

Opportunities to Participate
There were numerous opportunities to provide feedback during the conduct of the study. The study has been completed, and the feedback documented in the study Record of Public Comments. The three volumes of the Record of Public Comments are available at the Study Newsletters, Reports, and Meetings section of this website.

While the study has been completed, interested persons may contact the Commission staff regarding the study and recommended plan.

Advisory Committee
The study was guided and directed by an Advisory Committee composed of elected and appointed local officials, representatives of Federal and State Departments of Transportation, the business and labor communities, and the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, broadly representing environmental interests.


SEWRPC Regional Freeway System
Advisory Committee Membership

William R. Drew


Vice-Chairman, SEWRPC

Robert Cook


Executive Director, Transportation Development Association of Wisconsin

James T. Dwyer


Chairperson, Waukesha County Board of Supervisors

Theresa Estness


Mayor, City of Wauwatosa

Leslie J. Fafard


Director, District 2, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Daniel M. Finley


Waukesha County Executive

Lee Holloway


Chairman, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Jean M. Jacobson


Racine County Executive

Allan K. Kehl


Kenosha County Executive

Kenneth J. Leonard


Director, Bureau of Planning, Division of Transportation Investment Management, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Bruce E. Matzke


Wisconsin Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration, U. S. Department of Transportation

Gloria L. McCutcheon


Southeast Regional Director, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Dennis W. Melvin


City Administrator, City of West Bend

Kenneth F. Miller


Chairperson, Washington County Board of Supervisors

Thomas Millonzi


Organizer, Teamsters Local 200

William M. Norem


Chairperson, Walworth County Board of Supervisors

John O. Norquist


Mayor, City of Milwaukee

Marvin E. Pratt


President, City of Milwaukee Common Council

Dale J. Richards


Mayor, City of Oak Creek

Tim Sheehy


President, Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce

Jeff Speaker


Mayor, City of Brookfield

Scott K. Walker


Milwaukee County Executive

James White


1st District Supervisor, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Gus W. Wirth, Jr.


Chairperson, Ozaukee County Board of Supervisors

Thomas H. Buestrin


Chairman, SEWRPC

Study Purpose | Study Scope | Public Involvement
Study Reports
 | FAQ's  | Links | Contact Us | Home